John · Luke

Luke 22 and John 13

Luke: rememeber he is a Gentile who writes to the Gentiles.  It will not have all the hidden “Old Testament” phrases weaved through it.  But Luke is detailed for sure.  This is a different view from yesterday’s read.  I will try to keep this super short.

Judas betrays JesusWho Was Judas Iscariot? His Life and Betrayal

It was never about the money…don’t miss a key verse…the enemy knew what Judas treasured and used it.  Yesterday I mentioned that Satan would leave Jesus in the wilderness.  In the meantime, he has been ruining lives on earth.  Now Satan needs to deal with an important matter!  Jesus.

Then Satan entered Judas, called Iscariot, one of the Twelve. 

Connect verse 3 with:

31 “Simon, Simon, Satan has asked to sift all of you as wheat. 32 But I have prayed for you, Simon, that your faith may not fail. And when you have turned back, strengthen your brothers.”


  1. I think I have read this passage a several times in my life and I have never seen verse 31-32.  (I love when that happens)
  2. Satan “asked”…(reminded me of the book of Job)
  3. I love when He calls Peter the old name: Simon…a reminder of who Simon was but a remineder too of who Peter is not…
  4. And when you turn back…😍

39 Jesus went out as usual to the Mount of Olives, and his disciples followed him. 40 On reaching the place, he said to them, “Pray that you will not fall into temptation.” 41 He withdrew about a stone’s throw beyond them, knelt down and prayed, 42 “Father, if you are willing, take this cup from me; yet not my will, but yours be done.” 43 An angel from heaven appeared to him and strengthened him. 44 And being in anguish, he prayed more earnestly, and his sweat was like drops of blood falling to the ground.


49 When Jesus’ followers saw what was going to happen, they said, “Lord, should we strike with our swords?” 50 And one of them struck the servant of the high priest, cutting off his right ear.

51 But Jesus answered, “No more of this!” And he touched the man’s ear and healed him.

At his arrest, He proves that he is NOT being taken-He is GIVING himself over.  Jesus had the power to pick up an ear and completely heal it!  If in that moment Jesus could do that, surely He could have esaped a few men.  In that moment, He could have…but instead GAVE himelf to be arrested.

 



The Last Supper-

I am at a loss for words today.  Even if you have not watched the above videos.

Please watch this one and listen to the words.  Spend a quiet moment in worship.